Organisational Structure

The Management Board

The Board of Ervia currently consists of 9 members who are appointed by the Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage.

Tony Keohane


Tony Keohane was appointed to the Board in July 2016. In addition to his role as Chairman of the Ervia Board, Mr. Keohane is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Tony is an expert in the strategic development of businesses and organizations and is a strategic advisor in his own consultancy business. He has a wide breadth of business skills with high level experience in commercial, finance, decision-making, analysis and team building, with a proven track record on delivering value to a business. An Alumni of INSEAD, he holds a number of non-executive roles and is the Ex-Chairman of Tesco Ireland and was CEO of Tesco Ireland from February 2006 until July 2013. He was Chairman of the Government appointed Services Strategy Group. He is on the board of Sam McCauley Chemists and An Bord Bia and is the Chairman of Repak and the Malone Group. As well as this he is also involved in a number of commercial projects and some Charity boards.

Cathal Marley

Board Member

Cathal Marley was appointed to the Board in August 2020 and is a member of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee. He joined Ervia in 2016 as Chief Financial Officer, and has over 20 years’ experience in the utilities and infrastructure sector, having previously worked in senior roles across the electricity industry with ESB. He holds an MBA from Michael Smurfit Business School, UCD, is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Council Member of the IMI and a member of the DCU Audit Committee. His early career was spent with EY in Dublin and Eastern Europe.

Chris Banks

Board Member

Chris Banks was appointed to the Board in July 2016. Mr. Banks is a member of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee and the Project 23 Committee. He was Commercial Director at Scottish Water from 2002-2014 during its formative period and business transformation within public sector ownership. He held responsibility for Procurement Asset Delivery partnerships, Energy management, Property & Facilities, IT, Fleet, Non-regulated businesses in Renewables, Contracting and International Consultancy, and overseeing Market opening for Water Retail Competition. Previously he has worked at board and senior management level in Building Products, Minerals and Shipping industries. Chris runs his own consultancy business (Chris B2B Ltd) acting as Non-Executive Director, Interim Commercial Director and Strategic Advisor to a number of utility, consultancy, technology, services and supply companies in water, waste and renewable energy sectors. Chris is a graduate of Oxford University, holds an MBA from Cranfield School of Management and is based in Edinburgh.

Fred Barry

Board Member

Fred Barry was appointed to the Board in July 2016 and was re-appointed in January 2020. Mr. Barry is Chairman of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee and a member of the Project 23 Committee. He is currently Chairman of the National Transport Authority and a non-executive director of the PM Group.

He was Chief Executive of the National Roads Authority from 2005 to 2015. Prior to that he worked with Jacobs for 25 years, where his management roles included Group Managing Director for the UK and Ireland. He is a Chartered Engineer, also qualified as a barrister, and is a Fellow of Engineers Ireland and of the Irish Academy of Engineering.

Keith Harris

Board Member

Mr. Harris is Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee and a member of the Project 23 Committee and the Remuneration Committee. He is a Board Director at South Staffordshire plc, Industry Partner at AIP Asset Management and an associate of OXERA LLP. He also is the owner of the private infrastructure advisory business, LorraineHouse, specialising in energy generation and distribution investments. Prior to these appointments Keith spent 20 years at Wessex Water, including a period of time at ENRON / AZURIX where he was global head of Regulation. At Wessex Water Plc he held various senior Executive and Board positions at Group, utility and unregulated levels, including CFO and deputy CEO.

Sean Hogan

Board Member

Sean Hogan was appointed to the Board in January 2015 and was re-appointed in January 2020. Mr. Hogan is a Chartered Director and is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee. He was Chairman of Northern Ireland Water Limited from March 2011 to March 2015 and is currently the Chairman of WRAS Ltd in the UK and Chairs the expert advisory committee on bovine tuberculosis for the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural affairs in Northern Ireland.

Mari Hurley

Board Member

Mari Hurley was appointed to the Board in June 2013 and was re-appointed in June 2018 and is the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director. She is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee. Ms. Hurley was appointed to the Board of NAMA in April 2014. She is the Chief Financial Officer of Premier Lotteries Ireland and was previously Chief Financial Officer of Hostelworld Group plc. and Finance Director of Sherry FitzGerald Group. Mari also worked at Bear Stearns Bank plc. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland having trained and qualified in Arthur Andersen. Ms Hurley has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from University College Cork.

Finbarr Kennelly

Board Member

Finbarr Kennelly was appointed to the Board in December 2012 and was re-appointed in December 2017. Mr. Kennelly is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee. He is currently Finance Director with Procuro Euro, a software and services company. Previously he held senior positions with the Gardiner Group, distributors of hardware, hand and power tools. Prior to that Mr. Kennelly served as Financial Controller of telecoms company Alcatel Business Systems Ireland. He is a former board member of The Housing Finance Agency plc and also served as a mentor with Plato Ireland, the support network for SME’s. He holds a B. Comm degree and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Joe O'Flynn

Board Member

Joe O’ Flynn was appointed to the Board in November 2008 and subsequently reappointed in November 2013, January 2015 and July 2018. Mr. O’ Flynn is a member of the Project 23 Committee and the Investment/Infrastructure Committee. He is the Chairman of the One Cork Group and a member of the Cork Airport Development Council. He was appointed a member of the executive board of the International Transport Federation in October 2018. He is a former General Secretary of SIPTU, a former Lord Mayor of Cork and former City Councillor. He is a former director of two SIPTU affiliated bodies- the Institute for the Development of Employment Advancement Services and the Larcon Centre- the controlling body for the Liberty Hall Centre for Performing Arts. He is also a former Treasurer of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and a former member of its Executive Council.

The Management Team

The Management Team, headed up by Cathal Marley Group Chief Executive Officer is responsible for the day to day management of the company.